keen101

Profile Pic

Full Name
Andrew Barney
Member for
7 months 3 weeks
Bio
I am an independent plant breeder living in Northern Colorado. I've worked with Purple Stalked Indian Corn, Frost Tolerant Indian Corn, All Teosinte Species, finding and adapting Teosinte to Northern Colorado climate, adapted my own successful watermelon landrace for Northern Colorado, and started an interesting [Citron Melon x Domestic Watermelon] breeding project on Homegrown Goodness and the new OSSI Open Source Plant Breeding Forum. I am starting to get into Cacti growing and genetics. Genetics is my passion. And unusual plants. I also am helping with a large wild tomato breeding project by combining wild tomato germplasm with domestic tomatoes. Solanum pennellii is the best one i've worked with thus far. I also have a very large collection of unique and rare pea germplasm. I am introducing a red-podded snap pea to Fedco Seeds to trial in 2019.
Mailing Address

2263 Rocky Mountain Ave
Apartment 113
LOVELAND, CO 80538-8850
United States

Phone
9702320760
Additional Contact Information
You can find me on the new OSSI plant breeding forum!
Educational Background
Associate of Precision Machining
Associate of Science
Planning on Bachelors in Soil and Crop Science and Plant Breeding starting fall 2019
Volunteer Background
I am an independent plant breeder living in Northern Colorado. I have been successful with Purple Indian Corn, Teosinte, Some wild tomatoes, Watermelon landrace, and peas. I helped select a red-podded pea that i am introducing to Fedco Seeds. (keen101.wordpress.com). You can find me most often on Homegrown Goodness or the new OSSI Open Source Plant Breeding Forum.
Favorite Crops & Least Favorite Crops
Peas (Pisum sativum), Watermelon Landrace, Corn, Teosinte, Prickly Pear Cacti, wild tomatoes. Tomatoes do not do well for me, thus a breeding project, Corn i have problems with Racoons. Watermelon do well for me now that i have my own landrace that has adapted to my environment. Peas do great, most of the time. Varieties like 'Amish Snap' do terrible for me as they are adapted to other climates and do poor here.
Growing Experience
Growing food
Starting seeds
Hand pollination
Seed-saving
Plant breeding
Other
Time Commitment
2-5 hrs
Growing Location
Space Available
A bed or two (11-40 sq. ft)
Soil Details
Fort Collins loam
Soil Type
Neighbors' Crops (within 1/4 mile)
Squash, tomatoes
Possible GMOs in the neighborhood...
Other relevant information
Currently living in an apartment. Have some space available in the community garden, and some at my parents house, but we plan to be moving withing the next year or two and hope to buy a house of our own.
Other
Developing Grex and Landrace projects with large genetic diversity. (evolutionary plant breeding)