casonclay


Full Name
Clay C Cason
Member for
3 months 1 week
Volunteer Background
Currently live in Lexington, KY. I have a degree in horticulture with an emphasis on CA natives and drought tolerant plants. I went to school in CA where I grew up. I also have several certifications in other aspects of horticulture.
Favorite Crops & Least Favorite Crops
I enjoy growing cucumbers, melons and a variety of herbs. Just about everything grows well for me, with the exception of leafy greens. I do have good luck with Kale though.
Growing Experience
Growing food
Starting seeds
Growing perennials
Seed-saving
Time Commitment
Over 10 hrs
Growing Location
Space Available
Small lot (101 - 400 sq. ft)
Soil Details
Not sure exactly what you want from the web-soil survey? I did what the aforementioned paragraph asked me. All I could glean from this was something that came up as Tabular & Spatial, Incomplete.
Otherwise, I've been amending my clay soil with local farms horse droppings. I've had great success every year with the crops I like growing.
Soil Type
Growing Location Descriptors
Neighbors' Crops (within 1/4 mile)
None
Neighbors' crops (within 1 mile)
None
Possible GMOs in the neighborhood...
Details
I live in a neighborhood where there isn't much growing space for anyone. I am fortunate to have a fairly large backyard with several raised beds, one of them being large.
Other relevant information
I have no immediate problems with any crops. I have an occasional powdery mildew issue when the season is humid. No issues with insects, so far.