jpadvo

Profile Pic

Full Name
Jason Padvorac
Member for
1 year 1 month
Volunteer Background
I graduated with a degree in biomedical engineering, and worked as a web designer for about 8 years. In the last year I have been transitioning to farming, plant breeding, and permaculture activities.
Favorite Crops & Least Favorite Crops
I love growing brassicas, with kale as my favorite. The Pacific Northwest is a wonderland for kale!

I'm growing several varieties of perennial grains, and this year am starting a corn breeding project. I love growing grains.

I prefer to dry farm, so I like crops that can make do with little or no irrigation through our dry summers here.
Growing Experience
Growing food
Starting seeds
Growing perennials
Hand pollination
Seed-saving
Plant breeding
Time Commitment
0-2 hours
Growing Location
Space Available
Small lot (101 - 400 sq. ft)
Soil Details
I'm growing on glacial till. Some areas I've built up areas with rich organic matter, other areas not so much.

The subsoil is only a few inches deep in some areas, and in other areas there is a good 8 inches or more of very fertile soil.
Neighbors' Crops (within 1/4 mile)
Backyard gardens
Neighbors' crops (within 1 mile)
Backyard gardens
Possible GMOs in the neighborhood...
Details
None know. We are not near commercial farms.
Other relevant information
I have access to land on a hill, with shallow, dry, rocky soil at the top, and deep moist soil blending into wetland at the bottom, and a nice gradient between. Given our very dry summers, this could be useful for assessing the degree of drought tolerance of a crop.

Overall I have about an acre and a half of land with a wide variety of conditions. The space I will have time to prepare and use for EFN projects is limited, but there is a variety of possibilities available.