mushroombob


Full Name
Ryan Jacobson
Member for
2 years 3 months
Volunteer Background
I am a scientist who loves to grow things, especially food or otherwise useful crops. I have worked in plant breeding and have experience in the greenhouse as well as the lab. I am especially interested in perennial fruits and vegetables. My interest has been focused mainly on tropical/sub-tropical crops, but due to a recent relocation to the north (USDA zone 4/5), I am researching more cold hardy options.
Favorite Crops & Least Favorite Crops
One of my favorite families is Solanaceae. I love the diversity in the family. I am also interested in grains, beans (Fabaceae) and fruits.
Typically I am less interested in growing common crops or varieties. Although I have found that the more I learn about a particular crop, the more interesting it becomes.
Growing Experience
Growing food
Starting seeds
Growing perennials
Hand pollination
Seed-saving
Plant breeding
Other
Time Commitment
0-2 hours
Growing Location
Space Available
Small lot (101 - 400 sq. ft)
Soil Details
Rocky, alkaline, high clay content, but I am in the process of amending and building the soil
Soil Type
Growing Location Descriptors
Neighbors' Crops (within 1/4 mile)
peas, corn, squash, tomatoes
Possible GMOs in the neighborhood...
Details
None that I know of, but there is a lot of alfalfa in the area and it would not surprise me if it was GMO
Other relevant information
We have deer that sometimes wander through, but I will be taking steps to keep them out of the garden, I hope.
Other
interspecific hybridization, embryo rescue, micropropagation