Jenn Bertrand

Profile Pic

Full Name
Jenn Bertrand
Member for
6 months 3 weeks
Volunteer Background
Have an off grid homestead on 13 acres in the coast range of northern Oregon. Very interested in local food security and breeding plants to be more locally adapted. Been growing food for about 15 years and learning more and more each year. Mostly practice no till, low input, minimal water, survival of the fittest type growing.
Favorite Crops & Least Favorite Crops
Favorite crops are collards, carrots and walking onions. Things do best here that can overwinter, self seed, get established with the spring rains or require minimal water. I have better results with small fruited, short season tomatoes, late slow growing cabbages, short season beans and squash. Zero success with melons and poor results with corn haven't tried either in a long time. The night's here get down to 45f even on 100f summer day. Don't like growing things that are super finicky or require a ton of care.
Growing Experience
Growing food
Starting seeds
Growing perennials
Seed-saving
Time Commitment
2-5 hrs
Growing Location
Space Available
Nice backyard (401 - 2500 sq. ft)
Soil Details
Some places with lots of rotted wood and charcoal from old fires. Some places with lots of clay and some with deep loose silty loam. Forest and open field.
Soil Type
Growing Location Descriptors
Neighbors' Crops (within 1/4 mile)
Tomatoes, brassicas, squash, carrots, lettuce, tomatillos, onions, hay
Neighbors' crops (within 1 mile)
Same
Possible GMOs in the neighborhood...
Details
There are no gmos that I know of and no commercial production of anything (besides the tree farm called the state forest) only a few home gardens
Other relevant information
Almost always home. Slugs. Watering is time consuming so is limited to the most important things. Summer night's can be in the 40s, winters are usually mild but wet. Have plans for more greenhouse space but now it is very limited.